A registered party is recognized as a National Party only if it fulfills any of the following three conditions:

  1. The party wins 2% of seats in the Lok Sabha (11 seats) from at least 3 different States.
  2. At a General Election to Lok Sabha or Legislative Assembly, the party polls 6% of votes in four States and in addition it wins 4 Lok Sabha seats.
  3. A party gets recognition as State Party in four or more States.

The national parties have to fulfill these conditions for all subsequent Lokshabha or State elections, else, they lose their status.

There are currently six national parties in India:

1. Indian National Congress

2. Bhartiya Janata Party

3. Communist Party of India

4. Communist Party of India (Marxist)

5. Bahujan Samaj Party

6. Nationalist Congress Party