• politicalbaaba@gmail.com
  • April 5, 2014

The business of opinion polls / pre poll projections is big in India now. This is very much in demand in Lok Sabha and State Assembly Elections. A lot has been written on whether it should be banned as it  impacts voting pattern of people. It shapes public opinions and helps political parties gauge the mood of the people. But are they accurate? In the latest 4 state assembly elections, for 3 states every opinion poll was correct. But these states were done deals. No survey was needed to say BJP was winning in Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh and Rajasthan. Delhi was tricky, very close and almost all opinion polls got it wrong barring one.

So it brings us back to the moot question are these opinion polls correct? For the last three elections – 1999, 2004 and 2009, opinion polls have gone horribly wrong. Especially 2004 was a blot for the opinion poll industry. Everybody predicted for BJP win with comfortable majority. BJP lost badly and got half of the seats. What is wrong with these opinion polls?

1. The sample size is too small.

In this elections sample sizes for most polls have been 50k. NDTV claims a sample size of >2 lakhs. This is <0.1% of the total voter base of 80 crores. Even if you assume 50% voting, this is still <0.1%. How can such a small sample predict the voting trends and patterns?

2. All constituencies are not covered.

India has a total of 543 constituencies. Opinion polls cover 250-300. NDTV the biggest opinion poll (as they claim) covered only 350 constituencies (<65%). Without covering 200+ constituencies, how can voting pattern of those seats be predicted?

3. Opinion polls assume people would answer survey questions honestly.

This is the premise of the whole exercise. In India people hesitate to discuss openly about their political preferences. Plus some people deliberately give wrong answers for the sake of fun.

4. Poll results can be manipulated. Survey questionnaires can be tweaked to get the result you want.

Plus lately there have been various allegations that most of these polls are paid for. Survey / Research companies can be sponsored to carry out polls by political parties. A new type of polls have emerged. That by political parties. Like the one carried out and advertised by Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi state elections. These are definitely manipulated.

5. Proportion of rural population in sample size is small:

Majority of people who actually go out and vote are from rural areas. The situation there could be entirely different than urban areas. Because of sheer costs involved, I doubt whether surveyors actually are able to reach out to rural people. Majority of urban people don’t vote so their opinion doesn’t matter much.

Pollsters extrapolate the results of the 250-300 constituencies they cover and come up with the whole country picture.  It is more of an intelligent guessing based on trends and current mood. A lot of readers ask whether projections carried out by Politicalbaaba are backed by surveys. Answer is no. I have a network of people / followers from whom I take feedback and give my projections. It is in no way inferior to any opinion poll carried out by channels / newspapers etc.

Poor Track Record of Opinion Polls

2004: Everybody predicted a NDA win. NDTV / Indian Express gave 287-300 seats, India Toady 330-340 seats. Hindu in an article before elections (19th April, 2004) calculated an average of the polls as 271 seats for NDA. Actual result 181, 90 seats less than projected. Congress was projected to get on an average 150 seats, they got 218.

2009: Most polls expected Congress led UPA to emerge as the largest combination, but the margin between UPA and NDA was projected to be 20-30 seats. UPA 200, NDA 170-180. Actual result UPA 262, NDA 159, margin of >100 seats.

I couldn’t get 1999 Lok Sabha opinion polls on net. The industry was not very big then. However as per a blog by Prashant Panday (http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/the-real-truth/entry/last-3-poll-forecasts-all-wrong-india-today-now-forecasts-an-nda-win), India Today predicted in Dec. 1998 that the BJP+ would get 135 seats while the Congress+ would get a huge 305. Exactly opposite of this happened. Couldn’t verify the authenticity though, presented for illustrative purposes.

2014 Opinion Polls

In 2014, opinion polls predict a NDA led victory. BJP led NDA is expected to get 220-260 seats as per most surveys. Will history repeat itself again? Only time will tell…. But one thing is for sure, opinion polls are not any way better than anybody’s (your or mine) guess. Politicalbaaba predicts 230 seats for NDA (excluding TDP).

Related Posts:

http://politicalbaaba.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/congress-demands-ban-on-opinion-polls-next-target-ban-on-name-pappu/

http://politicalbaaba.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/all-india-projections-revised/

 

Comments

legal sounds

legal sounds 2017-09-07 09:31:31/ Reply

Can I recently say thats a relief to uncover somebody who actually knows what theyre preaching about over the internet. You actually learn how to bring a problem to light and work out it critical. The diet need to read this and understand why side of your story. I cant think youre less well-known since you absolutely provide the gift. http://www.iomoio.net

ed sheeran concert

ed sheeran concert 2017-09-04 21:41:08/ Reply

Loving the information on this site, you have done outstanding job on the content . http://www.edsheeran.co.uk

Melita Christou

Melita Christou 2017-09-02 09:31:23/ Reply

This could be the appropriate blog for anyone who really wants to learn about this topic. You know much its practically challenging to argue together with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin with a topic thats been discussed for years. Fantastic stuff, just great! http://www.iomoio.co.uk/bonus.php

bets10

bets10 2017-02-21 18:26:52/ Reply

A round of applause for your post.Really thank you! Cool.

mp3 songs

mp3 songs 2017-01-18 12:00:43/ Reply

Muchos Gracias for your post.Much thanks again. Want more.

1

1 2017-01-13 10:36:25/ Reply

I value the post.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

subwaysurfersgame.net

subwaysurfersgame.net 2017-01-12 00:59:38/ Reply

Thanks for the blog article.

eebest8 fiverr

eebest8 fiverr 2016-12-09 15:22:32/ Reply

"Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I'd like to follow you if that would be ok. I'm undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts."

anchor

anchor 2016-10-31 05:22:02/ Reply

I just want to say I'm very new to blogging and absolutely liked this web-site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You actually have very good articles and reviews. Appreciate it for sharing your website page.

Vijay Tiwari

Vijay Tiwari 2014-04-28 22:12:48/ Reply

Whatever may be the drawback.....It is useful to attract audiences and collect TRPs

Post a Comment

MY BOOKS

BlogAdda Indian Elections Page

TOP 15 POLITICAL BLOGS IN INDIA

FaceBook Page

SITE STATISTICS

  • Total Visit: 2,471,369

MY BOOKS

Author Page

PB Speaks To The Guardian

PB Oye Times Interview

Follow me on Twitter

CONTACT US

politicalbaaba@gmail.com

Archives

FOLLOW THE BLOG